1: Things – Happening (1)

Things keep happening, and I wish they would not. I wish that time would stop and that every­thing would of a sudden become static and un­mov­ing. Then nothing would happen, and I could wander about, free from all anxieties about what other people might do. I would read books in this static world, stay out in a warm garden for weeks and weeks, for the sun does not move; or live for a year in a large art gallery and reposition myself before a different painting every few hours. And oh my goodness, I could just sit still, unmov­ing, myself. Quiet. Calm. I think I would know peace.

Leave a Reply

