34: Malevolency – Stalking

Sometimes I sit in my chair for an hour or more, trying not to move, keeping my breathing as shallow as I can. Some deep instinct informs me that if I keep as still as possible, then the cruel forces that continually sweep across the world may not notice me, and they will pass me by and leave me alone. They have roughed me up too many times before, and when that deep instinct gets wind of something nasty close by, it makes me freeze. And there I sit, not quite dead, but trying to be as dead as I may if I am ever to rouse again.

Leave a Reply

